EIF/SCOR Foundation for Science 2024 Best Young Researcher Award in Finance and Insurance

The Scientific Council of the Europlace Institut of Finance (EIF) has awarded the 2024 prize for the Best Young Researcher in Finance and Insurance to two winners, who tied in the deliberation process. The award ceremony took place on 19th March, during the second day of the seventeenth edition of the Financial Risks International Forum (Risks Forum), with Philippe Trainar, Director of the Fondation SCOR pour la Science and Elyès Jouini, President of Scientific Directory of Institut Louis Bachelier.

This year’s winners are Claire Célérier, Associate Professor of Finance at Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto and Paul Karehnke, Associate Professor of Finance at ESCP Business School.

From left to right: Elyès Jouini, Paul Karehnke, Jean-Michel Beacco, Marie Brière, and Philippe Trainar. Photo Credit: Hervé Thouroude.

The two winners received the prize and a cheque for 7,500 euros each, in recognition of their previous work and future potential for new research.

As a reminder, this Best Young Researcher Award has existed since 2005 and has been sponsored by the SCOR Foundation for Science since 2016. The EIF Scientific Council decided to extend this prize to insurance research in 2017.

Read the interview with Claire Célérier           Read the interview with Paul Karehnke