Louis Bachelier Fellows

The Community

The Louis Bachelier Fellows community brings together researchers and practitioners.

Coming from the academic or corporate world, Fellows are personalities recognized for their activities or their involvement in research related to one or other of the Institute’s themes.

Louis Bachelier Fellows is:

  • A peer-to-peer exchange and peer support community that enables Fellows to advance at different stages of their careers, whether researchers or practitioners.
  • A means of opening up research and disseminating its results to social actors (the general public, the media and public and private decision-makers at the national and international levels).
  • A forum for debate and foresight aimed at bringing out and identifying new topics and fields of research.

The Louis Bachelier Fellows community promotes transversality, multidisciplinarity and transdisciplinarity in their themes and research methods.

42 Louis Bachelier Fellows are currently nominated.

What do we do?

Each year, Fellows are invited to identify themes and research topics around which they gather at the most realistic and appropriate frequency, timing and locations. These meetings, whose organization is supported by the Fellows, will be able to take different formats, depending on the initiatives concerned.

In organizing these events, the Fellows benefit from the help of the ILB, which puts at their disposal its teams, publication formats, means of communication and infrastructure.

Every year, the ILB organizes an assembly and a public event, which is an opportunity to:

  • Share findings;
  • Identify new themes, topics or research fields for promoting a new work cycle.

Prizes may be awarded to individuals chosen by the Fellows.

How does one become a Fellow?

Academic Fellows are annually invited to nominate up to two researchers / scientists each. Professional Fellows will also put forward a maximum of two professionals.

New Fellows are elected by the existing Fellows. The vote is organized as follows:

  • Academic Fellows vote for Academic Fellows and Professional Fellows
  • Professional Fellows vote only for Professional Fellows

Voters can choose up to two-thirds of the number of candidates. Blank votes and abstention are distinguished. Blank votes are counted as expressed. Candidates who have received nominally at least two-thirds of the votes cast are admitted (the denominator is counted as the number of Fellows casting votes) and at least half of the votes in the number of Fellows.

Rights and Duties of Louis Bachelier Fellows

Fellows are a community of researchers and practitioners embodying the spirit of the ILB. They are expected to contribute to the publicizing and development of the ILB.

The Fellows are requested to:

  • Participate in the annual process of appointing new Fellows;
  • Vote for the best young ILB researcher;
  • Participate as much as possible in events organized by the ILB on themes and topics of interest to their various members.

Fellows are also expected to:

  • Display their membership of Louis Bachelier Fellows in their CV and, as far as possible, their publications;
  • Contribute to the identification of new themes and research topics likely to structure meetings and discussion between Fellows;
  • Contribute to and participate in conferences organized by the ILB or its Chairs;
  • Contribute to creating or becoming the holder of a new Chair.


An individual elected from the Fellows is responsible for drawing up the schedule of actions and ensuring that the nomination procedure is respected. He or she ensures the representativeness of the Fellows and suggests way of strengthening the community.

Scientific Board

  • Christian GOURIEROUX, Président du BES 2012-2014
  • Elyès JOUINI, Directeur scientifique de l’IEF, Chaire « Les particuliers face aux risques »
  • Nizar TOUZI, Directeur scientifique de la FdR, Chaire « Risques Financiers » et Chaire « Marchés en mutation »
  • Bertrand Villeneuve, Président du BES


FdR Scientific Board

  • François EWALD, Directeur de l’Ecole nationale d’assurance Enass-Cnam


IEF Scientific Board

  • Pierre-André CHIAPPORI, Columbia University
  • Ivar EKELAND, University of British Columbia
  • José SCHEINKMAN, Université de Columbia 


ILB International Scientific Board

  • Pierre-Louis LIONS, Président du CSI, Professeur au Collège de France
  • Yacine AIT-SAHALIA, Professor of Finance and Economics, Princeton University
  • Georges DIONNE, Professor of Finance, HEC Montreal
  • Walter SCHACHERMAYER, Professor of Mathematics, University of Vienna


LABEX chair responsibles

  • Yann ALGAN, Chaire  « Sécurisation des parcours professionnels »
  • Pierre CAHUC, Chaire  « Sécurisation des parcours professionnels »
  • Brigitte DORMONT, Chaire « Santé »
  • Nicole EL KAROUI, Chaire « Risques Financiers »  et Chaire « Marchés en mutation »
  • Christian GOLLIER, Chaire « Marchés des risques et création de valeur »
  • Monique JEANBLANC, Chaire « Marchés en mutation »
  • Jean-Michel LASRY, Chaire « Finance et Développement Durable et Approches quantitatives et Financement »
  • Jean-Pierre PONSSARD, Chaire « Energie et prospérité, Financements et évaluation de la transition énergétique »
  • Stéphane VILLENEUVE, Chaire  « Marchés des risques et création de valeur »


Elected 2018

  • Bruno BIAIS, Toulouse School of Economics
  • Patrick BOLTON, Columbia School of Business
  • René CARMONA, Princeton University
  • Jean TIROLE, Toulouse School of Economics
  • Dimitri VAYANOS, London School of Economics

Elected 2019

  • Stéphane CREPEY, Université d’Evry
  • Youri KABANOV, Université de Franche-Comté
  • Delphine LAUTIER, Université PSL Paris-Dauphine

(Active members of the IEF Group of Pros for at least 2 years)

  • Clémence ALASSEUR, IDR Laboratoire Finance des Marchés de l’Energie  
  • Christophe ANGOULVANT, Senior Partner, Roland Berger Strategy Consultants
  • Marie BRIERE, Head of Investor Research Center, Amundi
  • Olivier de BANDT, Directeur des Etudes au Secrétariat Général, Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel (ACPR)
  • Jean BOISSINOT, Conseiller des Gouverneurs, Banque de France
  • Laurent CLERC, Directeur, ACPR Banque de France
  • Sylvain CORIAT, Directeur Assurance de personnes, Allianz France
  • Michel CROUHY, Head of Research & Development, Natixis
  • Laurent FOURNIER, Head of Business Analysis & Statistics, European Cash Markets Executions, NYSE Euronext
  • Stéphane GALLON, Head of Economic Studies, AMF
  • Pierre GAYE, Responsable Adjoint de “Risks on Market Activities”, Société Générale
  • Pascal GIBART, Risk Manager, Crédit Agricole CIB
  • Nicolas GRANDCHAMP DES RAUX, Managing Director, Global Head of Quantitative Research, Equity Derivatives, HSBC France
  • Benoît HUBAUD, Managing Director – Capital Markets Department, Société Générale CIB
  • Marielle de JONG, Head of Fixed-Income Quant Research, Amundi
  • Isabelle LAUDIER, Responsable Scientifique, Institut CDC pour la Recherche
  • Arnaud LAVIT d’HAUTEFORT, YTAE, Associé
  • Charles-Albert LEHALLE, Capital Fund Management
  • Philippe SETBON, Directrice de la Recherche, Groupama AM
  • Pierre REBOUL, Senior Partner, Eurogroup


Elected 2018

  • Antoine FRACHOT, Crédit Immobilier de France

Elected 2019

  • Kheira BENHAMI, Autorité des Marchés Financiers – AMF
  • Antoine de SALINS, I Care & Consult
  • Caroline LE MEAUX, Caisse des Dépôts