Promote, share and disseminate research in economics and finance

Louis Bachelier Fellows

The Louis Bachelier Fellow committee is created to stimulate exchange of knowledge and cross collaboration between professional and academic actors in Economics and Finance. There are currently 42 nominated Louis Bachelier Fellows.

Why was the Louis Bachelier Fellows community launched?

The Louis Bachelier Fellow committee brings together researchers and practitioners. Fellow members  are part of a community of researchers and practitioners within Economics and Finance that are personally recognized for their involvement with one or more of the four underlying transition areas currently in focus at the Institut Louis Bachelier: Finance, Demography, Energy and Digitalization.

Louis Bachelier Fellows is:

  • A peer-to-peer exchange and support community that allows Fellows to develop at different stages of their careers, whether they be researchers or practitioners.
  • A means of opening up research and disseminating the results to the general public, the media, and public and private decision-makers at an national and international level.
  • A forum for debate and forecasting that seeks to generate and identify new topics and areas for research.

The Louis Bachelier Fellow committee fosters transversality, multidisciplinarity and transdisciplinarity in themes and research methods.


What do Fellows do?

Every year, Fellows are invited to identify themes and research topics with regard to which they meet at a realistic and convenient frequency, time and place. These gatherings take different formats depending on the particular initiative concerned.

In organizing these events, the Louis Bachelier Fellows benefit from the help of the ILB, making available to them manpower, publication formats, communication resources and infrastructure.

On a regular basis ILB also organizes meetings sponsored by a Professional Fellow at a corporate location.


How does one become a Fellow?

Every year, the academic Fellows are invited to nominate up to two researchers/scientists. Professional Fellows nominate up to two professionals.

New Fellows are elected by the Fellow committee. Voting is organized as follows:

  • Academic Fellows vote for both Academic Fellows and Professional Fellows
  • Professional Fellows vote solely for Professional Fellows

Voters can choose up to two thirds of the number of candidates. A distinction is made between blank votes and abstentions. A blank vote is deemed to count as a vote. Candidates who have been named by at least two-thirds of the votes are admitted, subject to those casting a vote numbering at least half of the total number of Fellows.

Fellows may decide to favour researchers in certain fields, or on the basis of other criteria. Fellows may also be encouraged to propose professionals in order to ensure a balance between professions and sectors.

Initially appointed for four years, Fellows may be re-appointed at their request on the basis of a particular activity or value to the community. Each candidate will provide a CV and a short statement as to why he or she wishes to become a Louis Bachelier Fellow.

This core group is made up of academic Fellows and professional Fellows. Membership is purely operational and does not entail any privileges or future communication.

Rights and duties of Louis Bachelier Fellows

The Fellow group is a committee of researchers and practitioners engaged in the Louis Bachelier Network and Group. Fellows are expected to contribute to the influence and development of both.

Fellows are requested to:

  • Participate in the annual appointment process for new Fellows.
  • Vote for the best young ILB researcher.
  • Participate as much as possible in events organized by the ILB on themes and topics of specific interest to the various Fellows.

Fellows are also expected to:

  • Specify their status as Louis Bachelier Fellows in their CV and, as far as possible, their publications.
  • Help identify new themes and research topics likely to structure meetings and the exchange of ideas among Fellows.
  • Contribute to and participate in conferences organized by the ILB or its Chairs.
  • Contribute to the creation of a new Chair or become its holder.


An nominated group of Fellows is responsible for scheduling actions and ensuring that the appointment process is respected. This group is also in charge of representativeness and ways to reinforce the committee.


Scientific Management

Christian GOURIEROUX, President of BES 2012-2014

Elyès JOUINI, Scientific director EIF

Nizar TOUZI, Scientific director of the Risk Foundation, ”Financial Risks” Chair and “Changing markets” Chair

Bertrand Villeneuve, President BES


RF Scientific Council 

Francois EWALD, Director of the Ecole nationale d’assurance Enass-Cnam


EIF Scientific Council

Pierre-André CHIAPPORI, Columbia University

Ivar EKELAND, University of British Columbia

José SCHEINKMAN, Université de Princeton 


ILB International Scientific Council

Pierre-Louis LIONS, President of CSI, Professor at Collège de France

Yacine AIT-SAHALIA, Professor of Finance and Economics, Princeton
Georges DIONNE, Professor of Finance, HEC Montreal
Walter SCHACHERMAYER, Professor of Mathematics, University of Vienna

Holders of labelled Chairs

Yann ALGAN,  “Sécurisation des parcours professionnels” Chair 

Pierre CAHUC, “Sécurisation des parcours professionnels” Chair 

Brigitte DORMONT, “Health” Chair

Nicole EL KAROUI, “Financial Risks” Chair and “Changing Markets” Chair

Christian GOLLIER, “Marchés des risques et création de valeur” Chair

Monique JEANBLANC, “Changing Markets” Chair

Jean-Michel LASRY, “Finance et Développement Durable et Approches quantitatives et Financement” Chair

Jean-Pierre PONSSARD, “Energie et prospérité, Financements et évaluation de la transition énergétique” Chair

Stéphane VILLENEUVE, “Marchés des risques et création de valeur” Chair

Elus 2018 :

  • Bruno BIAIS (Toulouse School of Economics)
  • Patrick BOLTON (Columbia School of Business)
  • René CARMONA (Princeton University)
  • Jean TIROLE (Toulouse School of Economics)
  • Dimitri VAYANOS (London School of Economics)


(Active members of the EIF Professionals Group for at least two years).

Clémence ALASSEUR, IDR Laboratoire Finance des Marchés de l’Energie  

Christophe ANGOULVANT, Senior Partner, Roland Berger Strategy Consultants

Marie BRIERE, Head of Investor Research Center, Amundi

Olivier de BANDT, Director of Studies, Secrétariat Général, Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel (ACPR)

Jean BOISSINOT, Head of the Pôle Analyse Economique du Secteur Financier, DGT

Laurent CLERC, Director, Banque de France

Sylvain CORIAT, Director or Individual Insurance, Allianz France

Michel CROUHY, Head of Research & Development, Natixis

Laurent FOURNIER, Head of Business Analysis & Statistics, European Cash Markets Executions, NYSE Euronext

Stéphane GALLON, Head of Economic Studies, AMF

Pierre GAYE, Joint Manager of “Risks on Market Activities”, Société Générale

Pascal GIBART, Risk Manager, Crédit Agricole CIB

Nicolas GRANDCHAMP DES RAUX, Managing Director, Global Head of Quantitative Research, Equity Derivatives, HSBC France

Benoît HUBAUD, Managing Director, Capital Markets Department, Société Générale CIB

Marielle de JONG, Head of Fixed Income, Amundi

Isabelle LAUDIER, Scientific Director, Institut CDC pour la Recherche

Arnaud LAVIT d’HAUTEFORT, YTAE, Associate

Charles-Albert LEHALLE, Capital Fund Management

Marie-Pierre PEILLON, Research Director, Groupama AM

Pierre REBOUL, Senior Partner, Eurogroup

Ludovic VALADIER, Innovation and Development, CDC


Elu 2018 :

  • Antoine FRACHOT (Crédit Immobilier de France)