Institut Europlace de Finance

The “Institut Europlace de Finance” (IEF) is a foundation of public utility dedicated to the support of research in finance more specifically focusing on private sector needs. IEF enables the Louis Bachelier Group to support short and medium-term applicable research projects.




IEF Award

Each year three prizes are awarded during the Financial Risk Forum awards ceremony:

  • Prize of the best Young Researcher in Finance
  • Prize of the best article in Finance
  • Prize of best article on a hot topic

The winners are selected by a jury made up of members of the Scientific Council of the Europlace Institute of Finance (IEF). Are eligible, articles written or co-written by researchers and teacher-researchers practicing in France and published the year preceding the event (date of paper release) in scientific journals whose list is imposed by the Scientific Council.

These articles should be of major interest to the financial industry at large.

The three prizes reward authors on criteria of excellence, performance and innovation.

2019 : Guillaume VUILLEMEY, (HEC Paris) and Aurélie ALFONSI, (CERMICS/ENPC)
2018 : Catherine BOBTCHEFF, (TSE)
2017 : Dylan POSSAMAI, (Université Paris-Dauphine)

2016 : Peter TANKOV (Université Paris-Diderot) & Johan HOMBERT (HEC Paris)
2015 : Sophie MOINAS, (TSE)
2014 : Mathieu ROSENBAUM, (Ecole Polytechnique and Université Pierre et Marie Curie), Christophe PERIGNON, (HEC Paris)
2013 : Bruno BOUCHARD, (Université Paris-Dauphine) and François DERRIEN, (HEC Paris)
2012 : Augustin LANDIER, (TSE) and David THESMAR, (HEC Paris)
2011 : Joël PERESS, (INSEAD)
2009 : Thomas MARIOTTI, (Toulouse School of Economics)
2008 : Pascal MAENHOUR, (INSEAD)
2007 : Nizar TOUZI, (Ecole Polytechnique)
2006 : Laurent CALVET, (HEC Paris)
2005 : Thierry FOUCAULT, (HEC Paris)

2016 : Olivier GUEANT (ENSAE) and Charles-Albert LEHALLE (Capital Fund Management) 
2015 : David THESMAR and Johan HOMBERT, (HEC Paris)
2014 : Sébastien POUGET and Sophie MOINAS, (TSE)
2013 : Jean-Paul DECAMPS, Stéphane VILLENEUVE and Thomas MARIOTTI, (TSE), Jean-Charles ROCHET, (Zurich University)
2012 : Joël PERESS, (INSEAD)
2011 : Jean TIROLE, (IDEI Toulouse)
2009 : Thierry FOUCAULT (HEC Paris)
2008 : Elyès JOUINI and Clothilde NAPP (Université Paris-Dauphine)
2007 : Harald HAU (INSEAD)
2006 : Pascal MAENHOUT (INSEAD)
2005 : Bruno BOUCHARD (Université Paris-Dauphine), Nizar TOUZI (Ecole Polytechnique)

2016 : Bruno BIAIS and Sophie MOINAS (TSE), Thierry FOUCAULT (HEC Paris)
2015 : Joël PERESS, (INSEAD)
2014 : Pierre HENRY-LABORDERE, (Ecole Polytechnique et Société Générale)
2013 : Clotilde NAPP, (Université Paris-Dauphine)